Colorado State Law

Pursuant to Colorado State law, any property split or modification of existing property lines require a subdivision plat approval from the controlling municipality. In the City of Wheat Ridge, subdivision processes are controlled by Article IV of the Zoning and Development Code. The City of Wheat Ridge subdivision regulations recognize a variety of subdivision types detailed below.

This section of the code does not apply in certain situations such as land division by order of a court for the settlement of an estate, by a foreclosure of a deed of trust or for the creation of cemetery plots. A duplex split is also exempt from the City's subdivision regulations; this process is used to divide ownership of an existing two-unit residential dwelling.

 Subdivision Types

 The City recognizes several different types of subdivisions. Each is subject to a different review process.

  • An administrative subdivision involves three or fewer lots, tracts, or parcels. 
  • A minor subdivision involves four or five lots, tracts, or parcels. 
  • A major subdivision involves six or more lots, tracts, or parcels or includes the dedication of a new public street. 

 All platting processes require a pre-application conference with staff to determine the exact nature of the review necessary.